Product Review: SheaMoisture Organic Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo & SheaMoisture Organic Raw Shea Butter Restorative Conditioner©


I absolutely love organic all natural products!

Whether it’s for hair, skin, face, body, food, etc., I love it! Not to say that I don’t or won’t use anything that isn’t organic or all natural, because I do. BUT in general, I usually lean toward organic all natural products!

Being a naturalista: a female with “au naturel” hair (french for natural) , I research different products, styles, and hair care techniques for au naturel hair care. In my researching, I came across an organic all-natural hair care product with certified organic ingredients called SheaMoisture.

First let me give you a little history about the SheaMoisture product. SheaMoisture was established in 1912 by Sofi Tucker, who started selling Shea Nuts at the villiage market in Bonthe, Sierra Leone. By the age of 19, the widowed mother of four was selling Shea Butter, Black Soap and homemade hair and skin preparations all over the countryside. Her grandchildren now carry on her legacy by providing consumers with certified organic products which extend beyond hair care into supplying certified organic skin care products as well. Isn’t that great! I just love the entreprenuial spirit that Sofi Tucker had! I totally identify with her entreprenuialism.

Here’s what I tried from the SheaMoisture product line:

ORGANIC RAW SHEA BUTTER MOISTURE RETENTION SHAMPOO w/Sea Kelp, Argan Oil & Shea Butter

ORGANIC RAW SHEA BUTTER RESTORATIVE CONDITIONER w/Sea Kelp, Argan Oil & Shea Butter

These two products are for DRY, DAMAGED HAIR and work to Heal, Grow, & Strengthen hair.

I have naturally curly hair. SheaMoisture does supply a certified organic product geared towards curly hair, however, I chose the Organic Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo & the Restorative Conditioner because I LOVE SHEA BUTTER! It is an excellent moisturizer for my hair. I was already using a shampoo and conditioner (I will do another review detailing the brand) that had shea butter in it and wanted to continue with the cycle of using it in my hair. Needless to say, the SheaMoisture Organic Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention & Restorative products work great in my hair. I am pleased with the results.

SheaMoisture has NO Parabens, NO Phthlates, NO Paraffin, NO Gluten (wow, I didn’t know gluten was used in hair products), NO Propylene Glycol, NO Mineral Oil, NO Synthetic Fragrance, NO Animal Testing, NO PABA, NO Synthetic Color, NO DEA, No Animal Ingredients & last but not least NO Sulfates! Isn’t that great!

Sea Kelp: Traces minerals and detoxify hair follicles of impurities and residue.

Argan Oil: Restores shine and rebuilds hair elasticity.

And Shea Butter, one my favorite products in the world, deeply moisturizes and repairs damage to hair and scalp.

Who wouldn’t love a product that does all this!

When I first used the shampoo, I noticed the difference in the way it lathered up, the reason being it doesn’t contain the sulfates and other ingredients like other non-organic/un-natural products do. It definitely smells great, which is a plus, and it gently and thoroughly cleanses the hair.

With the conditioner, I am used to using creamier/heavier conditioners in my hair, therefore, I am adjusting to the lightweight feel of the conditioner. However, it works great and can be used as a leave-in conditioner and aids in the detangling process. I used it as a leave-in conditioner when I wear the Wash & Go style (check out the pics below)

Now last but not least, you are probably wondering how much does this product cost and is it worth it! Let me ease your suspense and quench your curiosity by telling you in comparison to similar products on the market today it is inexpensive but well worth it’s price of $9.99! Yes, $9.99 a piece for the shampoo and the conditioner. You can find SheaMoisture products in your local Target Store or order online at www.sheamoisture.com

I would highly recommend SheaMoisture products and look forward to trying the rest of their product line.  Be sure to check out the pics below and leave your questions and comments as well!

Au Naturel Rocks!
Bridget

DISCLAIMER: The products listed in this review were purchased by me and I am in no way affiliated with the companies or brands listed in this review.

UPDATE: As of 3/15/2011 SheaMoisture products are NOW available in Walgreens!!!

image
image
image
image
image
image

15 Replies to “Product Review: SheaMoisture Organic Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo & SheaMoisture Organic Raw Shea Butter Restorative Conditioner©”

  1. Yes!!! I absolutly LOVE these products!!! I’m 6 months natural and during the begining of me journey, I used Giovanni Smooth as Silk shampoo and conditioner, but those didn’t work out to well for me( I have 4b hair). I tried Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter shampoo and conditioner and fell in LOVE!!! – Great website by the way. Stay naturally lovely:)

  2. Would i be able ti use it on dry and wet hair as a moisturizer ?
    If there are any other ways i can use this product please let me know.
    p.s. I just purchased this product today and im not so sure how to use it .

    1. The above review was on Shea Moisture’s Organic Raw Shea Butter Shampoo and Restorative Conditioner. It’s not a styling agent/product. Once using the shampoo and conditioner, you can style your hair anyway you choose. In the pics, I used the Eco Style Olive-Oil Gel in combination with the Restorative Conditioner. Fingered the products through my hair and the curls were the end result.

      Shea Moisture does offer products that aid in styling your hair. Check them out at http://www.sheamoisture.com.

  3. My girl friend gave me a box set of shampoo and conditioner. Sitting in the tub without my glassess on, I read the story of Sofi and thought, “wow, funny lady, actress and inventer. Then put my glasses on. Oh, wrong Sophie Tucker, but great hair product. Made my hair feel soft and shiney. Thank you Miss Sofi and family.

  4. I could be a spokes woman! REALLY! I swear by it……My husband&I go on missions looking for Sofi Tucker. Please help us find a place to get all thr products. Thank you very much. Gil&Sue Zaris

    1. I personally haven’t tried the deep masque. Their products are good. I would suggest trying it and seeing if it works well with your hair. Everyone’s hair is different and sometimes receive different results.

  5. I just recently bought the Shea moisture African black soap. Are there any suggestions or comments (anything I need to do or not to do before using it please let me know.

    May God Bless
    M.jones

    1. Hello Ms. Jones,

      Thank you for contacting me. I haven’t tried SheaMoisture’s African Black Soap Shampoo or Conditioner. I wouldn’t be able to offer any suggestions or comments about anything you should or shouldn’t do before using it. I have used their African Black Soap facial products and lotion, regularly, without any problems. I would suggest visiting their website at: http://www.sheamoisture.com or their Facebook Page to ask or get suggestions about their African Black Soap Shampoo and Conditioner.

      God bless you as well,

      Ms. Bridget D. Webb EffortlessBeauty™ Blog Owner & Administrator

    1. Hello Gwen,

      If you have a Target in Oakland, California, you might be able to find SheaMoisture products there. Here in Flint, Michigan, I purchased these products from one of our local Target stores. Product availability may vary by demographics, they might not have this particular SheaMoisture product in your area. You can always visit their website at: http://www.sheamoisture.com to find out where you can purchase this particular product in your area or if it’s available, purchase it directly from SheaMoisture at the website. 🙂

      Bridget
      EffortlessBeauty™ Blog Owner & Administrator

Leave a Reply

